A Lazy Girl’s Guide to Blogging

Whoops, I was taking selfies instead of blogging.

Whoops, I was taking selfies instead of blogging.

In my first three years of blogging, I have gone through epic blogging lulls of laziness. I have abandoned my poor blog for far too long, too many times. Sometimes I’m busy. Sometimes I’m brainstorming. Sometimes I’m just lazy. Let’s be real.

As a lazy girl (who has come up with plenty of excuses), I would like to present a guide to blogging for all the lazy girls out there:

1. Brainstorm tons of ideas, but don’t write them down. It’s like a game. The “Will I remember that brilliant idea in half an hour?” game. Guess what? You will lose basically 99.999% of the time. But it’s fun to test your memory skills.

Aw man, I forgot all my brilliant blog ideas! Oh well. Let's take another selfie.

Aw man, I forgot all my brilliant blog ideas! Oh well. Let’s take another selfie.

2. Watch YouTube videos for inspiration. Too many videos. Wait, it’s midnight? Aw man, I should go to bed. I’ll blog tomorrow.

Source: viralcrawler.com

Source: viralcrawler.com

By the way, here are some of my favorite blog channels to watch instead of blogging:

The Young Turks

Secular Talk

Jenna Marbles (classic, of course)

3. Why not tweet at one of your favorite YouTubers? Spent too much time crafting a witty tweet. Become too happy when said YouTuber favorites said tweet, and follows you on Twitter.

Can I just say I was pretty stoked when this happened?

Can I just say I was pretty stoked when this happened?

4. Thinking about writing a blog post? Why not take a walk instead? It will not only help with brainstorming, but you will also forget all your ideas along your walk, and you’ll forget your plans to blog anyway.

No makeup? No problem!

No makeup? No problem!

5. Make yourself busy. Friends, work, school, and other activities are obviously time-consuming. Blogging is just something else to do. Don’t worry, you’ll get back to it. Eventually.

Source: pinterest.com Basically my logic.

Source: pinterest.com
Basically my logic.

6. Spread the word that you’re making a comeback. Tweet it, Instagram it, Facebook it, tell your friends.

Source: youtube.com

Source: youtube.com

7. Now you have to stick to your word. No more procrastinating.

Source: elitefitnessmentoring.com

Source: elitefitnessmentoring.com

8. Drink coffee. Lots of coffee. Don’t like coffee? Yes you do. No, you do. You like coffee.

Source: dreamatico.com Coffee makes my life just a little brighter.

Source: dreamatico.com
Coffee makes my life just a little brighter.

9. Write like you’ve never written before. You’ve got this. When in doubt, include more pictures. People like pictures.

Source: blogs.montclair.edu

Source: blogs.montclair.edu

10. Refer back to this list the next time you’re going through the cycle of laziness. You’re not alone. Trust me.

In the meantime, hit up a baseball game or two.

In the meantime, hit up a baseball game or two.

25 thoughts on “A Lazy Girl’s Guide to Blogging

  1. Rebecca,
    Absolutely amazing post, yes, you are right, most of us, one or other time, pass through this circle, you are not alone, we all are sailing in same ship, by the way, in your absence, I have achieved one major milestone in my blogging life, my followers grow more than 100, so, to celebrate this success, recently I have started one series containing various posts about my journey and added one more section, named, Unique Blogger” in it, so, whenever you have spare time please feel free to visit it and do not forget to leave your precious comment about it.
    Wishing you all the best…………….

  2. Well, it seems (to this professor) that you do everything right. I like your vicious growling face lots, and hitting up baseball games is an excellent idea. Did you catch a baseball? Now, then, coffee…is yucketh.

  3. Thank you for allowing males to use this list as well. I try to not proclaim my return because it seldom works out. By the way, the caption to your third selfie should be “No makeup? No need!”

  4. Hahaha! I haven’t blogged in a month, maybe cos I’ve lost some of the motivation to blog. So this post is really timely, but I hate coffee though. Keep up with your posts! And I love your selfies too 🙂

  5. All my greatest blogging ideas get washed down the drain. See, I come up with brilliant ideas while I’m out running. Lots of thinking goes on out there. But then I get home, take shower and there’s not a thought in my head. And I can never remember to write this stuff down before getting in the shower. I like the “just one more episode” tip, too. There’s always time for one more!

  6. Pingback: Saturday Share | All In A Dad's Work

Thoughts? Say Something!

