People who don’t get it

As writers, we often come across people who don’t “get it.” I’ve written poems to the people who don’t understand art.

Writing is an art that isn’t black and white (thankfully). We can interpret a piece in a million different ways. We can use our life experiences to relate to someone’s work.

However, if we’re the author and someone is misunderstanding our work and blaming us, how should we feel?

Is the problem us, them, or neither party?

Recently I wrote a post about “fire safety,” but it was a metaphor. Do I need to say what the metaphor is?

My assumption is that readers can figure it out.

Right?

That’s my hope, after all.

My hopes were dashed today when I received some rude tweets from someone who clearly didn’t “get it.”

Here’s how it went down:

Her: Did you really sit in your house while it was on fire?

Me: Hahaha, no, it’s a metaphor.

Her: Oh good cause I thought you were really a dumbass.

Source: imgarcade.com She did.

Source: imgarcade.com
She did.

Me: Yeah no. It’s quite clearly not about a real fire. It’s an obvious metaphor…

Her: Well it’s clearly not if I had to ask.

Me: Nah, it’s pretty clear. Maybe you just didn’t get the metaphor?

Her: I guess it’s just not that good.

Source: hellogiggles.com

Source: hellogiggles.com

Me: Well then you don’t have to read it. #thanks #ByeFelicia πŸ™‚

For real, that actually went down.

If I had to give some advice to people out there wondering how to critique a writer’s work, here are some helpful tips:

Rule #1: Don’t call the author a dumbass. I know it’s shocking, but calling anyone a dumbass may come off as rude.

Rule #2: Don’t continue to insult the author. You may come off as hostile.

Rule #3: If you don’t understand the author’s intentions, remember that you didn’t have to read or even reach out.

Rule #4: Be prepared for the author to be offended. The author may not even feel inclined to be overly kind to you. Who would be cheerful after someone just called her a dumbass?

My conclusions from this little Twitter exchange?

Source: memegenerator.net

Source: memegenerator.net

No matter how long you’ve been writing, no matter how educated in the writing field you are, you will have haters. It’s just life. And like T-Swizzle, it’s better to just shake it off (or write a snarky post about it). Whichever works for you. Using whatever inspiration you can find to motivate your writing is something that will help your writing evolve. So maybe we need haters?

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “People who don’t get it

  1. Or it’s always fun to answer, dripping, Oh, you’re right. That’s what I really meant! Except they rarely get the sarcasm, either. Oh, well. On to the next Twit. Excuse me. Tweet. Have a good night, Ms. Meyers.

  2. Loved this! You have a great sense of humor. I just went through this with a guy who thought I should be more clear, he said “not everyone will get what I am saying.” Uh… ok, thanks. I guess he was one of those “not everyone.” Keep writing, I look forward to reading more of your posts.

  3. This has happened to me several times. I wrote a fictional conversation and a reader thought I was talking to him directly because I used a title that came up from a conversation. He has been avoiding me since that one single post. It was funny, because it was a scheduled post and was published as we were having a conversation about a related topic. Funny, because I had written it two weeks earlier. I wish he had asked me what it was about, but he’s not mature enough to do that, and I do not believe that I have to defend something I didn’t say. At least you’re not mourning the loss of a friendship over something you weren’t actually talking about. Please be grateful for that, and best wishes.

    • Wow, it sounds like he made a big deal out of nothing. He could have easily just asked you what it was about. People like that baffle me.

      I’m glad my situation was just with someone I didn’t know who decided to insult me. It was more amusing than anything else.

  4. If they don’t get it, that’s their problem. Ignore their pathetic caterwauling and move on. As my grandmother used to say, “Fuck ’em if they can’t take a joke.”

  5. I think you were being very patient. I’d have stopped the conversation after the word dumbass. On the internet, it is important to distinguish the real normal readers from trolls. And this was clearly a troll.

      • Sometimes I am wondering why people take so much time responding to trolls. If someone uses rude language, or is clearly obsessed with a subject, one should not feed them by responding. Discussion is ok, but not insult.

      • I know what you mean. I have just simply deleted their comments and not bothered replying. But for some reason, sometimes I want to address their comment to point out their rudeness and see if maybe hearing it will make them re-think their actions.

  6. I’m with KleesButterfly. Life’s too short to give it away to people who are obviously acting from a negative place. I don’t expect everyone to “get” everything I write, and I’m fine with that. In fact, I’m pleasantly surprised that *anyone* gets some of the stuff I create. But when it comes to interaction, rudeness (either direct or delivered passive aggressively) is a deal breaker. An automatic “adios.” Basically, it’s a matter of self care. I know I deserve respect, and I know you do too. Plus, I thought it was an engaging metaphor. 8~)}

    • I totally agree. While not everyone will “get” what we write (or draw, paint, or express through other artistic forms), the ones that go out of their way to be rude are just doing so to cause trouble. Usually I ignore it, but I decided this time to address these silly people and show that rudeness doesn’t help anyone.

Thoughts? Say Something!

