My Blog is Slowly Becoming “The Breakup Blog”

Source: allisonarchived.com

Source: allisonarchived.com

…and I’m not sorry about it.

Blogging has recently become crucial for me in dealing with circumstances out of my control. Writing has always been a constructive way of gaining control in my life. Blogging is currently not only one of my creative outlets in coping with realities I’d like to bury deep within my subconscious, but it’s therapy.

When inspiration shoots through my veins, I cannot ignore it. I must follow it, breathe it in, exhale it somewhere. The exhalations occur with the “Publish” button.

Maybe I’m a broken record?

I don’t care.

When I’m falling from the sky, dangerously close to smashing into the concrete, I need something to grab onto. Something. Anything.

Poetry. Venting to friends. Music. Blogging. Lately, the latter has become my therapy of choice. Not only am I using my creativity as an outlet, but blogging has felt like an added bonus of venting to the blogging community as well. Creative venting, I’ll call it.

Combining writing and the ability to vent with the click of a button is just what I’m craving. A release for the volatile thoughts I would normally internalize.

In spoken conversations, I keep details to the bare minimum, skipping over my raw emotions. My armor and mask are chained to my frail body.

However, writing is safe. I let go of the death grip on my thoughts as I publish blog post after blog post. It’s my form of communication when I cannot speak.

Through the comments section of my blog, I realize that I’m not alone. No matter how many nights I spend within myself, cold and numb, there are others doing the same.

While plummeting to the ground, I need a glimmer of light. A light to soften the impact of the crash. Blogging has been that light for me recently.

Humyn is my space to creatively voice my neurotic thoughts that naw at my brain. If I am a broken record, obsessing over the same themes consistently, I’m not sorry.

I’ve been infected with poison in my veins, and writing is my therapy to bleed it out. Blogging is more efficient, and at the same time, I hope that I am helping others in the same situation.

Blogging isn’t just about me. I blog for myself and for others who need motivation and a voice. Connecting with people who have reached out to me makes the darkness easier to stumble through.

My blog has taken directions I never expected, and it’s become more important to my sanity than I ever thought possible. Writing is an eternal process for my life. There will always be movies to review, poems to discover, songs to absorb, relationships to analyze. I have numerous obsessions in life, and my inspirations will never be exhausted.

I am grateful for everyone who has followed, commented, and emailed. This is just the beginning of a fabulous journey.

31 thoughts on “My Blog is Slowly Becoming “The Breakup Blog”

  1. Tell your stories πŸ™‚ It takes guts to put yourself into your writing. And the fact that you’re strong enough to be the kind of person to share what you’ve been through, gives hope to those who can’t find the strength to tell theirs stories.

    Best,

    Cara

    • Thank you so much! It does take guts, and at first I think I was hesitant to be too personal on my blog. Recently I’ve realized how therapeutic it is, and it helps other people who can relate to my stories as well. It’s worth it to be honest and share our personal experiences.

  2. This is a blog I will love and come back too. Started dabbling in scribbling things down( not a writer) but yes finding solace in the therapy of getting it on paper.

    • Thank you so much! It means a lot that you’ll be coming back to read my blog. I’m glad to hear it! I agree that getting thoughts down on paper is great therapy. It’s worked wonders for me! πŸ™‚

  3. Good. Write for you. This is your space, your forum, your way of reaching out to people. The real writing isn’t directed for an audience, it is the expression of the writer, in my opinion.

    • Thank you! I agree that it’s the writer’s expression and the writer’s space. The audience is made up of followers and readers who can relate to or gain something from what the writer has to say.

  4. When I read your posts I can really see and feel how honest and true to yourself you are; it’s amazing! And I find much of what you write to be very relatable. I just posted about Pennsylvania (long story) but I had a lot of the thinking that you talked about in this post. Thank you for sharing, I look forward to more.

  5. I heard somewhere once — I think on an episode of One Tree Hill, but I could be wrong, that we tend to write the words our hearts are too afraid to say out loud. It’s like once the words roll off our tongue, we’re forced to really sit in the reality of our pain. We’re forced to face those feelings we suppressed for a long time. So we choose to sit and let our souls bleed — whether it be on paper or on a screen. Whatever the case may be, we share our words and we share our stories and it’s cathartic. With each sentence that flows from the depths of our broken hearts, the weight lifts. We’re freed. And it’s incredible because not everyone has the capacity to do it. Not everyone can sit and bare their truth and let others peek into their soul. But you’re doing just that. And as much as I’m sure it’s helping you — it’s your therapy, after all, it’s also helping others so much. When I first started blogging, I was terrified about the feedback that I received. But like you, I found that there were other people out there — strangers sitting on the other end of the computer who felt what I felt. People who could learn and grow from my words. And I think that makes the heartache all worth it. That we can use it as fuel to put out positive energy into the world. That’s really all we can ask for. Keep it up, girl.

    Jackie

    • That is such a wonderful way to word it. I completely agree that we write the things we’re too afraid to say. I know that is true for myself. I hold back when I talk to people, but the words flow from my fingertips when I’m writing.

      I also used to be afraid to be transparent on my blog at first. There were things I wanted to say, but I held back. But recently, I realized that what I’m coping with is something that I can’t hold back. Blogging is so cathartic for me, and I’ve realized that it could help other people as well. It makes the pain inspiration, and I have hope that there is light on the other side.

      Through blogging, I have been able to find a positive and creative outlet for dealing with my emotions. I feel like I’m contributing something worthwhile by publishing my thoughts, and it helps me tremendously.

      Thank you so much for your wonderful comment and for reading! πŸ™‚

  6. I love that you pointed out you blog not only for yourself, but for others. So true! It takes such a strong person to put all their raw emotions out there for anyone and everyone to read at any given moment. Keep it up girl, you’re making a difference! =)

  7. Vent away. The more we write, the more we realize how much we have in common. No better route to world peace and all that. Odds are the cycle will complete, and your blog will slowly become a get together blog.

    • Thank you! I agree so much. It’s been a wonderful way to vent and connect with other bloggers who can relate to my situation. I feel like I’m helping people who feel the same emotions as I do. I feel like I’m hopefully doing some good. And it’s proven to be helping me tremendously!

  8. Rock On, Rebecca!
    I love reading your posts, and I agree- Blogging is a great form of expression. I sometimes find it hard to come up with words to express my true feelings, and blogging seems to be a great help. We can agree and disagree on various things, but that’s all good! Life would be so boring if we were all completely alike!
    Mahalo! (That is Hawaiian for Thanks or Thank you) No Ka Oi!!! (That means #1 or The Best………

    • Thank you! I’m so glad you’re enjoying my posts. Blogging is a great form of expression. That’s what makes writing to wonderful. You can write about anything you want. πŸ™‚

Thoughts? Say Something!

