Lies my ex told me

My edit to this photo is spot on.

My edit to this photo is spot on.

1. I love you.
2. I want to marry you.
3. I’m not seeing anyone else.
4. You’re the most beautiful girl in the world.
5. I want you.
6. I care about you.
7. I am loyal to you.
8. I don’t even know how to talk to other girls.
9. I’m sorry.
10. I’m better now.
11. You can trust me.
12. I’m a nice guy.
13. I don’t want to hurt you.
14. I want to be with you forever.
15. I’ll never do it again.
16. I respect you.
17. I respect you as a person.
18. I will take care of you.
19. She’s just a friend.
20. You mean the world to me.
21. I could never find another girl like you.
22. I want to treat you well.
23. I want you to be happy.
24. You come first in my life.
25. You’re immature.
26. You’re awkward.
27. You’re weird.
28. You’re lazy.
29. You’ll never leave me.
30. I want you to be open with me.

Truths I Must Tell Myself:

1. I am worth more than what I’ve had.
2. Little boys like him don’t deserve me.
3. Many men in general don’t deserve me.
4. I am not trash.
5. I have a heart.
6. I have a brain.
7. I am not immature.
8. I am not awkward.
9. I am not lazy.
10. I am enough.
11. I can be happy alone.
12. I can make myself feel beautiful.
13. I don’t need a relationship to be happy.
14. I don’t need to trust anyone but myself.
15. I am not a doormat.
16. I am not stupid.
17. I can erase him from my life.
18. My revenge is to be happy.
19. My revenge may also include blog posts.
20. Sadness leads to my best writing.
21. So does my anger.
22. Karma has already bitten him in the testicles.
23. Karma will continue to kick his ass every day.
24. I have a soul that no one will understand, and I don’t need them to.
25. I can find peace with myself.
26. I deserve people who build me up.
27. I am stronger than he thinks I am.
28. He doesn’t matter.
29. I matter.
30. I will be okay.

The best text I have ever composed. Gold star for me.

The best text I have ever composed. Gold star for me.

122 thoughts on “Lies my ex told me

  1. The truths to tell yourself…10-14 are SPOT on, well they all really are! But, definitely those ring loud and clear. Personally, once you make those affirmations, and believe them, life although not perfect, does get better! Been there myself, and I have to say, good for you and putting it out there. Very tasteful/classy πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Which band sings the soundtrack of your life? | Humyn

  3. Pingback: Which band sings the soundtrack of your life? | Humyn

  4. Pingback: Why you should listen to your intuition | Humyn

  5. The best lines I’ve heard in a long time: “24. I have a soul that no one will understand, and I don’t need them to.” such a coincidence that I should come across your blog and these words at time when I really need it.

    • Thank you so much! I agree that a sense of humor is crucial for these types of situations. I’ll be watching a lot of comedies. You’re welcome, and thank you for following my blog as well. πŸ™‚

  6. Two good lists! May I suggest one revision, to #12 on your “Truths I Tell Myself” list: “I *am* beautiful.” Needs to be on everyone’s list. Sometimes we show it and sometimes we do things to cover it over, but it’s always there.

      • So many of them around. The way I see it is that at least they give us great writing opportunities. As I told mine many times, you should think twice before being an a*****e to me because I’m a writer baby πŸ˜‰

      • That’s awesome! I’ve also realized that a lot of my inspiration comes from the bad times. This breakup has given me so many blogging ideas, and so that’s the upside. My ex should have known that if he was going to be that big of a douchebag, there would be some embarrassing consequences coming his way. πŸ˜‰

      • Yes, of course, because the bad times is when you WANT or NEED to write and they’re also inspiration. My ex hated me even just talking to friends about him, so you can imagine how he hated featuring so prominently in my blog posts – but I told him exactly what you’ve told yours: if you are going to play mind games and be pathetic, then it’s going to be written about! πŸ˜‰

      • I agree! When we are in pain, that is when we need inspiration the most. For me, blogging had been my inspiration. It has proven to be extremely affective because it’s a positive and creative way to vent my emotions. I don’t know what my ex thinks, but it doesn’t matter! πŸ™‚

      • It IS a positive and creative way to vent emotions, isn’t it? I love it, I sometimes think my blog is like a personal diary, except it’s a public one lol
        My ex is not completely out of my life and I know that he reads everything I write but I don’t care what he thinks either. Like he didn’t care when he was putting me through hell, and he still doesn’t care now that I told him I want him out of my life and he still insists we have to be friends. Anyway, I’m glad I found your blog, will be checking in regularly πŸ˜‰

      • Thank you, and I’m glad you found me! From what I’ve seem on your blog, I can relate to a lot of your thoughts.

        I also feel that blogging is like a public journal. It’s a way for me to vent like I would to a friend, but with the creative writing component. It’s the best of both worlds.

        Wow, I’m glad my ex hasn’t pulled the “friends” card! Yuck. For me, I’ve never been able to be friends with an ex, and with how messy our breakup was, I would never consider my ex a “friend.”

      • Oh I totally agree with you there! I have never ever stayed friends with an ex, but this one was a very close friend for 4 years before it turned into something more – so you see, I had never been in this kind of situation before. I was so angry with him at first when it ended that I cut him out completely but then as anger faded with time, I missed my friend – what we were before the relationship. And he pestered me for so long , totally refusing to let me go, that in the end I weakened. Probably a very bad idea as we kind of got emotionally involved again and I had to admit the friends thing was not going to work out. You just can’t go from friends, to lovers, to friends again – that’s something I have sadly realised but HE refuses to. As I said, it’s complicated. And I’ve just vented on your blog, sorry πŸ™‚

      • Venting is totally okay! You can vent here if you need to! πŸ™‚

        That situation would make it difficult to just cut him out of your life. I can understand why that wouldn’t be easy. The only guy I dated who started off as a friend was back in high school, and when we broke up we still remained friends. But there wasn’t really any bitterness, and there wasn’t much drama. Since then, I haven’t been so lucky with breakups. They are almost always messy, but this breakup was by FAR the messiest.

        Aw man, now I just vented on my blog comments!

      • Haha you are totally allowed to vent on your own blog comments πŸ˜‰
        Yeah, breakups are usually messy for me too and like you, this latest was the messiest ever….and I sometimes feel like it’s not over because he’s still in my life – it’s like the never-ending breakup! Ha!
        Let’s end on a totally not original note: “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”……right? πŸ˜‰

      • I know what you mean about how it’s not over since he’s still in your life. It’s hard to move on when you’re still in contact with the person. My ex and I were back and forth for a while, so that made it impossible to move on.

        Yes, that’s okay it’s not original; it’s still a phrase I need to live by! If this series of unfortunate events doesn’t make me stronger, then I don’t know how I’d be able to cope with it.

    • I’m so sorry to hear that you are experiencing this as well. I agree that women cheat, too. I’ve had male friends deal with this situation.

      Everything happens for a reason, even if we’re not sure what the reason is at the time. We will make it through this! πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Why do we let our dreams bother us? | Humyn

Thoughts? Say Something!

