Why failing is better than settling for less

Source: shuttershock.com

Source: shuttershock.com

“Never settle for less than you deserve.”

This phrase is thrown around to everyone crying into their ice cream (or alcohol) over a break up. I agree wholeheartedly with it, especially since I have decided that I want to be more selfish in 2015.

I believe that focusing on myself will help me avoid settling for crappy situations.

If we shouldn’t settle for a crappy relationship, why are so many of us giving up our dreams to settle for a crappy life?

Fear.

I have dreams for myself, just like everyone else. But why haven’t I been a ball buster, a chick who goes after what she wants, no matter who’s standing in my way?

Because of the unknown. That dark, scary monster under my bed.

In the middle of the night, when those deep thoughts about life creep into my head, the monster is in my thoughts.

Failure. I could go after my dreams, fall on my hopeful little face, and fail miserably.

So what?

I should be asking myself, “Who cares if I fail?” If we’ve suffered failed relationships, at least we learned something. Shouldn’t the same be true of our dreams?

For many of us, we neglect our dreams not on purpose, but because our brains are too busy. Our attention is spread out to a million different things in our daily lives, and we get wrapped up in the day-to-day monotony. I’ve been guilty of those for longer than I’d care to admit.

In the blogging world, there are many writers who inspire me. The ones who stand out the most are the ones going after their dreams and overcoming those fears of failing.

Case in point: Vanessa at her blog Wander Onwards. She travels the world, which is something I’ve forever dreamed of doing. She is clever and hilarious writer, and she’s clearly following her passions.

Sure, some aspirations we have might be far out of reach. Wistful, but not realistic. But if we don’t try, we’ll never know.

The people living their dreams stand out. They are confident, self aware, and discovering themselves on a deeper level. They go above and beyond, taking life by the balls instead of taking whatever bone is thrown their way.

Why not me? Why not you? If not traveling, but whatever your dreams are in that pretty little head of yours.

Instead of just dreaming and settling for ordinary, why not make something of those dreams? I want to make my dreams a reality, and if I fail, if you fail…

Who cares? At least we tried.

Source: iliketoquote.com

Source: iliketoquote.com

 

10 thoughts on “Why failing is better than settling for less

  1. Totally agreed. πŸ™‚ Compounding that fear of failure are the “What if”s that have me wondering always if I’m making the right choice to keep writing when time might be better spent elsewhere. But I have to level with myself–even if I never get published, I’ve spent a lot of good time writing for myself. πŸ™‚

    • That’s a great way to think about it. In life it’s better to do things for ourselves that make us happy rather than be wondering “what if” and feeling regret that we didn’t take chances.

  2. I couldn’t agree more. I think fear should be what drives us towards our goals versus deterring us. Nothing amazing in life is ever easy – because the most amazing things come with a great story about how you got there.

Thoughts? Say Something!

