I Never Met You, But I Will Miss You, Robin Williams

Source: adwhois.com

Along with the rest of the world, I am shocked at the death of actor and comedian Robin Williams, 63, who died this morning at his Northern California home, according to CNN. He died of probable suicide by asphyxia.

This news devastates me, and the world, not only because we have lost a brilliant, talented, beloved actor and comedian, but also because, as actor and friend of Williams, Ed Asner, said, “I am sorry, terribly sorry, that he was so alone.”

While struggling to type the words after reading the news, I noticed that most of us feel the same way: We never met him, but we miss him as if he was a lifelong friend.

I never met Robin Williams, yet I grew up watching his films. During my childhood, I was fascinated with his performance in “Jumanji,” and even as a child, I knew a brilliant actor when I saw one. Williams had the power to impact an audience, bringing forth laughter and tears.

In Psychology class during high school, I watched “Good Will Hunting.” Williams deservedly won an Oscar for his performance as therapist Dr. Sean Maguire, and his monologue with Matt Damon’s character (Will Hunting) while they sit on a park bench is powerful, relatable, and touches the soul.

In “Dead Poets Society,” Williams played John Keating, an English teacher at an all-boys boarding school, and as a writer, this film has impacted my life forever.

Keating lectured to his class, “We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for.”

I could never pretend to understand the pain of someone I’ve never met, but I do understand that Robin Williams has impacted the lives of millions, myself included. Hearing of his death is a shock, yet it is no secret that Williams has suffered drug and alcohol addiction and depression for years. Williams discussed these issues openly in interviews and in his comedy performances.

It is shocking that someone so loved, talented, and brilliant is no longer in this world. I may not understand someone else’s darkness because I have not seen it through their eyes, but their darkness still breaks my heart. Even though I never met you, I mourn your loss.

Though I never met you, I already miss you, Robin Williams.

Source: onlinemoviequotes.com

6 thoughts on “I Never Met You, But I Will Miss You, Robin Williams

  1. I could not agree more with everything you have written. The Dead Poets Society part especially! It is one of my favourite movies and has strongly impacted my life. Robin Williams was an unbelievable actor and human being and thank you for writing this so beautifully.

  2. I first see Robin in Mork and Mindy, even then I knew this actor was a very special person that would go on to be an household name. In dead poets he was brilliant. Unfortunately like a lot of brilliant actors depression also comes with their amazing minds, in the past I too have had spells of depression, but nothing as bad as some people. Robin will be missed by everyone who loved him for his work on television and the big screen. Your kind words say it all so for that i thank you, iam sure Robin himself would say the same about what you have written if he could. xxx

  3. Yes it is a shame that they feel so alone, i know how they feel because most of the time I feel alone too, it’s just something I have learned to live with, but unfortunately some people who have depression sometimes feel it is too much. Robin must have known how many people loved him, but sometimes that is just not enough. I think he was a very brave man and we will always love him. x

    • Yes, he is loved by millions of people who understood his talent and genius. I’m sorry you feel alone. I think everyone does at some point in life. Just knowing that no matter what, even when we feel that we are alone, there is always help, is important.

      I agree that Robin WIlliams was very brave. Just weeks before he died, he was in rehab, and so that seems to me that he was reaching out and trying to get help.

Thoughts? Say Something!

