Taking My Own Advice…Revisited

About a month ago, I wrote a post stating that I need to take my own advice that I easily dish out to friends or family. Revisiting this idea, I realize that taking my own advice is, just like giving others advice, more easily said than done. Going after what makes me happy in life sounds simple on the surface, but when I dive deeper, I’m thirty feet below the surface, thrashing around and holding my breath until I have to come up for air. While I know what will make me happy in the future, it’s tackling how to achieve it that becomes difficult.

Going through the motions of daily, sometimes boring life can make the advice I give myself and hear from others sound muffled in my head. The words are distant, almost foreign. But I run away from my own advice at times, unambitious to take risks in traveling towards my dreams. It’s scary how easy it is to get caught up in the monotony of the small things in life. I want to see the big picture and travel different paths, but first I have to listen to the advice I’ve been telling myself all along.

Even though hearing the same advice I tell myself from other voices, it helps to hear different tones and inflections. This makes the words become clearer, louder, and in a language I recognize. While I’d rather tell myself what I want, if many voices agree, then it just makes my own advice more valid.

I readily have words of encouragement for others, but when I feed these words to myself, I walk on, leaving the words behind me. My words are sincere, but somehow I lack the ambition at that moment to take the risk of going after my own happiness. Maybe actively changing my life feels scary? Sometimes it’s easier to leave things as they are, hoping life will change on its own. But that is not the way life should be. Where is the fun in waiting around for life to be what I want?

Not only is fear of change a reason for not taking my own advice, but it could also be that I’m comfortable. I see it in others every day: people like myself who are unhappy with something in their lives, but are too comfortable to actively change the situation. If outside circumstances change the situation, those changes are welcome. But if I am the one seeking out change, it feels too risky, and I hold back.

I want to experience life and not just live it, but in order to do that, I have to take my own advice. Change on its own takes too long, and life is too short to live waiting for situations to improve. Knowing what will make me happy is the first step, but the most difficult part is going after it. Actively making that change to make my life the way I want it to be. I want the best for everyone around me, so why not for myself as well?

 

10 thoughts on “Taking My Own Advice…Revisited

  1. The story of my life… :0)

    If I had a dime for every time I told someone else to take a risk or face their fears, or whatever, only to turn around and run from my own…well…I’d be a freakin’ gazillionaire. Here’s to those of us who see the potential in others. May we also live up to our own.

  2. This was beautiful. And I have my moments too when I don’t heed my own advice and a fall into a rut but then I realized those moments are little growth spurts and we all have them..we reasses ourselves, take a moment to reflect back, and charge forward again. Those lull moments are important, it’s what propels us to move forward 🙂

    xx Rakhi

    • Thank you very much! Not taking our own advice at first can be good learning experience. At in the future we hopefully feel more confident to go forward and do what we know will make us happy. 🙂

  3. Well said! This is the way I live my life, giving people advice and never taking my own.. Everyone definitely needs to start taking control of their own lives and strive for our own happiness and well-being x

    Talia (bellafloresa) ❤

Thoughts? Say Something!

