Are You An Introvert or Extrovert?

Source: blog.k12.com

Source: blog.k12.com

The Huffington Post wrote an article entitled “23 Signs You’re Secretly An Introvert,” and even though I’d previously thought I knew the difference between an introvert (a shy person) versus an extrovert (an outgoing person), I realized that is not an accurate assumption.

The article explains that the easiest way to determine if you are an introvert or extrovert is to look at which social situations give you the most energy. For example, if you feel tired after a party with lots of people, this is a sign that you are an introvert, because extroverts feel energized when they interact with lots of people. Introverts aren’t necessarily shy all the time; introverts simply prefer smaller groups and engaging conversations.

Determining if you are an introvert or extrovert can help you better understand yourself, and this article could show you that maybe you have been wrong about which one you are. For myself, I used to think when I was younger that I was an introvert because I was shy, and that as I got older I became more extroverted. Now I realize that I have always been an introvert, because I still prefer smaller groups and need my alone time to recharge.

Read this article to find out if you’re secretly an introvert and comment with your thoughts.

18 thoughts on “Are You An Introvert or Extrovert?

  1. I’m actually not too sure. My mum is an extrovert and my dad is an introvert and somehow I think I’ve managed to land somewhere smack bang in the middle. Some of the points in the article resonate and in others, I am the complete opposite.

    • That’s funny! I’m usually sociable at parties, but after a while I just think to myself, “Okay, there are too many people here. I need to leave. Everyone should stop talking to me.” šŸ™‚

    • Interesting point! I never thought about the time of day. I know for me I’m definitely most introverted early in the day, and then an introvert again at night. I guess to begin and end my day I need “me” time. šŸ™‚

Thoughts? Say Something!

